Casper Aviation Platoon Organization

Welcome to CAPO.   Casper originally arrived in Bien Hoa with the 173d Airborne Brigade in 1965.  We proudly supported the "Herd" and left Bong Son, Vietnam with the Brigade in August 1971.  In 2002, we formed the Casper Aviation Platoon Organization and developed the Casper Platoon website.  To date,  we have located over 280 former Casper Crew Members.


About Our Group

Casper Aviation Platoon Organization has no political agenda. We are a non-profit Vietnam Veterans group and we simply provide the means to stay in touch with those fellow Casper Platoon Pilots, Crew Chiefs, Door Gunners and Mechanics who have all shared the same experiences  while serving together in Vietnam.

This very important Casper mission was successfully accomplished by providing the means to communicate with each other via the internet, our website, newsletter, email, telephone, snail mail and at our annual reunions.  If you served in Casper Platoon, we encourage you to become a member of CAPO. Your annual dues & donations help fund our organization's maintenance, website, publishing, postage, our annual reunion and other operating expenses.


Membership Information

If you were a Casper Crew Member and are interested in joining our group, making a donation or would like to renew your past expired membership, please send your $25 check today payable to CAPO along with your application to:


          c/o Phil Johnson

          30815 Hasley Canyon Rd.

          Castaic, CA  91384

Application Apply Today

CAPO Dues and/or Donations are due on January 1st.



Casper Aviation Platoon Organization (CAPO)


2012 Executive Officers

Bill Fielding, President

Don Bliss, Vice President

Phil Johnson, Treasurer

Randy Plese, Dir. of Family Services

Rick Tompkins, Legal Council

Chuck Merkel, Unit Historian

Steve Greene, Reunion Chairman

Ned Costa, Executive Director



Past Presidents

2003 - Don Charlton

2004 - Ned Costa

2005 - Walt Henderson

2006 - Steve Greene

2007 - Tom Town

2008 - Buddy King

2009 - Art McBride

2010 - Phil Johnson

2011 - Tom Quinn


Board of Directors

Don Charlton


Past President

Ned Costa


Executive Director

Past President

Phil Johnson

Past President


Rick Tompkins

Legal Council





This site was last updated 7/2/11